←Back to the notebook

Unusual Whales API Alternatives in 2026: Options Flow APIs, Pricing and OPRA Licensing Explained

Unusual Whales API alternatives for options flow and unusual options activity, every price read on the vendor's own page on October 13, 2026, plus OPRA licensing in plain English: professional and nonprofessional fees, display versus non-display, redistribution, and what delayed data changes.

SentiSense Team
SentiSense Team
October 13, 2026 · 12 min read

A stack of dark glass trade tickets with one lifted and edged in gold, beside six glass tiles labelled SPY, QQQ, NVDA, TSLA, AAPL and AMD

The Unusual Whales API costs $150 a month for personal use (API Basic, after a 7-day free trial) or $375 a month for API Advanced with WebSocket streaming, and building a product on its data needs a business plan from $625 a month billed annually. The alternatives split into three groups: raw OPRA trade and quote feeds (Databento, Massive, Theta Data), chain and analytics APIs with unusual-activity flags (Intrinio, ORATS, FlashAlpha, MarketData.app, OptionData.io), and end-of-day analytics ranked against each stock's own history (SentiSense, from a free key). Which group you need depends less on price than on OPRA licensing, which this post explains in plain English.

Every price below was read on the vendor's own pricing page on October 13, 2026. Anything we could not confirm that day is marked unverified rather than guessed. SentiSense is our product; we say plainly where it falls short.

What does the Unusual Whales API cost, and what does it allow?

Two plans on the API pricing page. API Basic is $150 a month, "for individual developers", billed after a 7-day free trial. API Advanced is $375 a month, "for power users". Both carry real-time options flow with full market coverage, enriched with bid, ask, greeks, open interest and volume, plus dark pool prints, congressional and insider trades, daily open interest, a 2-year historical lookback, "unlimited requests per day" (no per-minute limit is stated), MCP support and agent skills. WebSocket streaming of option trades is included on API Advanced. The API docs list historical option trades for the full market as a $250 a month add-on.

The limits are in the license, not the rate: the plans are for individual use, the public API page says "Redistribution is not allowed", and the pricing page sends anyone "building a product on our data" to Startup, Kafka streaming and Enterprise plans "from $625/mo billed annually, with commercial licensing". The retail dashboard is a separate subscription: a free tier with flow delayed two trading days, then $50, $75 and $120 a month.

So the question "what is the alternative" has two honest answers. If you want flow in your own scripts, the alternatives are other data APIs. If you want to show flow to other people, the alternative is an OPRA vendor relationship, whichever feed you buy.

Which options flow and unusual options activity APIs are the alternatives?

Prices checked October 13, 2026. "Use terms" is what the page states; "not stated" means the page is silent.

Provider What you get Freshness Cheapest plan Use terms on the page
Unusual Whales Real-time flow, unusual-activity alerts, greeks, dark pool, congress trades Real-time API Basic $150/mo (7-day trial); Advanced $375/mo Individual use; no redistribution; business plans from $625/mo annual
Intrinio Chains, end-of-day historical options (2 years) and an Options Unusual Activity endpoint End of day on Individual and Startup; real-time or 15-minute delayed on Enterprise Individual $150/mo; Startup $333/mo to start, rising to $999 after a year Individual: personal use, no display or redistribution; Startup: commercial and display rights; Enterprise from $1,250/mo
Massive (formerly Polygon.io) Chains, greeks and IV; trades and quotes on higher plans Basic end of day; Starter and Developer 15-minute delayed; Advanced real-time Basic $0 (5 calls/min, 2 years); Starter $29; Developer $79; Advanced $199 Individual use; Advanced for non-professionals only; a Business plan once anyone else can see the data (options Business price not shown)
Databento Raw OPRA trades and quotes from every exchange; no greeks, IV or flags Real-time and historical Standard $199/mo live; Plus $1,750/mo plus pass-through license fees, annual contract, with external distribution Exchange license fees passed through at cost
Theta Data Every OPRA quote and trade, 6 to 14 years of history Real-time Value $40; Standard $80; Pro $160 Personal use only, no redistribution; commercial options $1,600/mo
ORATS IV, IV rank and percentile, skew, 500+ indicators; end of day since 2007 15-minute delayed, live, or 1-minute intraday Delayed $199; Live $299; Intraday $599; All-In $899; no free trial Live data agreements required; redistribution not stated
MarketData.app Chains, quotes, greeks Free 24-hour delayed; Starter 15-minute; Trader real-time Free (100 credits/day); Starter $30/mo or $12/mo billed annually; Trader $75/mo Internal use; real-time for non-professionals; Commercial plan with redistribution, custom price
FlashAlpha Chains with greeks, gamma and delta exposure, flow analytics; raw flow tape on the top tier 15-minute free; 15-second paid; about 1-second on Alpha Free (5 requests/day); Basic $79; Growth $299; Alpha $1,499 Internal use; commercial from $2,500/mo
OptionData.io Real-time WebSocket, historical SQL, chains, market-structure snapshots Real-time Pro $599/mo (first year by a sales-issued code) Not stated
Alpha Vantage Realtime and historical chains with greeks and IV, history since 2008 Real-time Premium only, from $49.99/mo (75 requests/min); the free key excludes options Not stated
Tradier Chains, quotes, hourly greeks Real-time only with a Tradier brokerage account; 15-minute delayed otherwise Included with Lite, Pro and Pro Plus brokerage plans; no standalone data price published Brokerage customers
Benzinga Unusual options activity signals Real-time Not published; the API pages returned 403 on October 13, 2026 (unverified) Not published
SentiSense End-of-day radar and per-stock dossier: IV rank, put/call percentile, 25-delta skew, open-interest walls, max pain, unusual contracts; about 1,040 stocks plus major ETFs End of day; a 15-minute delayed intraday board in the app for PRO Free key: top 25 radar rows, 10 dossiers/mo, 1 year of history; PRO $15/mo, full See API terms

Also checked: Cboe DataShop and LiveVol publish no prices (contact sales). BlackBoxStocks (Options Basic $59 a month) and FlowAlgo (from $99 a month billed annually) are dashboards; neither page mentions an API.

Which group should you build on?

Raw tape (Databento, Massive Advanced, Theta Data Pro) gives you every print, and the job of deciding what is unusual is yours: volume against open interest, sweep detection, premium thresholds. It is the only route to a true clone of a flow product, and it carries the full OPRA relationship described below.

Chains with analytics (Unusual Whales, Intrinio, ORATS, FlashAlpha, MarketData.app, OptionData.io) do the flagging and the greeks for you. You pay the vendor's price and, when the data is current and other people see it, the per-user fees still apply, because the vendor is passing OPRA data through.

End-of-day analytics (SentiSense, ORATS Delayed, Massive Basic) are the cheapest and the simplest to license, because nothing is current. They answer "which names' options looked unusual today, against their own history" for a nightly scanner, a research notebook or an agent tool. They do not answer "what just printed", and no end-of-day product should claim to.

What does OPRA licensing mean for an app builder?

OPRA, the Options Price Reporting Authority, runs the consolidated feed of last sales and quotes from every US options exchange. Every options price your app shows traces back to it, whichever vendor you buy from, and OPRA's agreements and fee schedule follow the data. The numbers below are from the OPRA Fee Schedule and policies published on opraplan.com, read October 13, 2026. The schedule prints no effective date; its latest step dates are January 1, 2018, and the SEC's February 2026 order on OPRA's most recent fee filing approved a change to direct-access wording, not to any amount.

Three roles. A subscriber looks at the data. A vendor redistributes it "externally", meaning outside its own organization, which OPRA's hosted-solutions policy says includes redistribution over the internet. Non-display use is a machine consuming the data for something other than showing it on a screen: investment analysis, risk management, order routing.

What a vendor pays. A Vendor Agreement with OPRA and a redistribution fee of $1,500 a month, or $650 a month for a query-only service with no auto-refresh. On top of that, per-user fees for every subscriber you furnish current data to: $31.50 a month per display device for a professional, or $1.25 a month per nonprofessional subscriber (sliding down to $0.60 above 500,000 subscribers). New professional subscribers get a 30-day free trial.

Professional or nonprofessional. A nonprofessional is a natural person using the data for personal investing only: not an entity, not registered with the SEC, CFTC, a state regulator or an exchange, not an investment adviser whether registered or not, and not employed by a bank to do work that would require registration. The vendor must qualify each user as nonprofessional before giving access, report subscriber counts to OPRA at least monthly, and pays the professional rate on anyone misclassified.

Display or non-display. Showing the data is display. Feeding it to a model, a risk engine or a matching platform is non-display, at $2,000 a month per category: on your own behalf, on behalf of clients, or for order matching. The declaration covers real-time data.

What delayed data changes. OPRA data is "delayed" after at least 15 minutes, and end-of-day data is a subset of delayed data. Delayed data owes no per-subscriber fees and no non-display fee, and every screen must carry a label such as "OPRA data delayed 15 minutes". It does not remove the vendor relationship: the redistribution fee is payable by every vendor that redistributes OPRA data "whether on a current or delayed basis". Only solely historical data, prior sessions rather than today's, is exempt from it.

Derived data. OPRA publishes no policy on derived values such as implied volatility, greeks or aggregates; its vendor questionnaire only asks you to describe any derived feed you distribute. Vendors read this differently: Massive calls derived redistribution a case-by-case conversation that depends on how much of the underlying price it reveals, and MarketData.app files greeks and IV computed for end users under non-display category 2. Whether a given derived value is fee-free is unverified and is a question for your data vendor and OPRA, not a rule you can read off a page.

How the vendors handle it. Databento passes exchange license fees through at cost and sells external distribution on its Plus plan. Massive's individual plans are for one person, its Advanced real-time plan is for non-professionals only, and its Business FAQ says a Business subscription applies "as soon as anyone other than you can see the data". Intrinio's Individual plan bars display and redistribution; its Startup plan carries commercial and display rights. Theta Data's individual tiers are personal use only. Unusual Whales sells redistribution only through an enterprise license.

The rule of thumb: real-time options data that other people see makes you an OPRA vendor with per-user fees; real-time data only your own systems consume is a subscriber with non-display fees; delayed or end-of-day data shown to users still needs the Vendor Agreement and the redistribution fee but no per-user fees; and analytics bought from a vendor are governed by that vendor's terms.

Where does SentiSense honestly sit?

SentiSense is not a flow feed. There are no tick or trade prints, no live chain with live greeks, and no real-time alerts through the API. What it serves is end-of-day options analytics for about 1,040 of the most actively optioned US stocks and the major ETFs, every reading ranked against the stock's own trailing history: IV rank, put/call percentile, 25-delta skew, open-interest walls, max pain, the session's unusual contracts with a next-session open-interest follow-up, and a market-wide radar. A free key reads the top 25 radar rows, 10 full per-stock dossiers a month and one year of history; PRO at $15 a month list serves the full board, unlimited dossiers and the full history, which runs from July 2024. During the session the app runs a 15-minute delayed intraday board for PRO accounts; the API carries that board's counts and percentiles, not its contract rows.

For builders, the data is three REST endpoints in the options API docs, the get_options tool in the MCP connector, and the unusual-options-activity agent skill. The launch post explains the percentile method. If your product needs a tape, buy a tape; if it needs to know which names' options looked stretched today, a free key answers that.

Data is provided for research and education, not investment advice. Options trading carries significant risk.

Get a free API key →

FAQ

Does the Unusual Whales API allow commercial use or redistribution? Not on the standard plans. On October 13, 2026 the API pricing page sold API Basic at $150 a month and API Advanced at $375 a month for individual use, its public API page said redistribution is not allowed, and it pointed anyone building a product on the data to Startup, Kafka streaming and Enterprise plans from $625 a month billed annually with commercial licensing.

Do I have to pay OPRA fees to show options data in my app? If the data is current (less than 15 minutes old) and other people see it, yes. Under the OPRA fee schedule you become a vendor: a Vendor Agreement, a redistribution fee of $1,500 a month ($650 for a query-only service), and per-user fees you pay for each subscriber, $31.50 a month per professional display device or $1.25 a month per nonprofessional. Data delayed at least 15 minutes, including end-of-day data, owes no per-user or non-display fees, but redistributing it still requires the Vendor Agreement and the redistribution fee.

Which options flow API has a free tier? Of the providers checked on October 13, 2026: Massive's Basic plan ($0, end-of-day chains, 5 calls a minute), MarketData.app's Free Forever plan (100 credits a day, options delayed 24 hours), FlashAlpha's free plan (5 requests a day, 15-minute data) and SentiSense's free key (the top 25 rows of the end-of-day options radar, 10 full per-stock dossiers a month and one year of history). Unusual Whales offers a 7-day trial of API Basic rather than a free tier.